Zoom video lectures

Zoom - How to secure your meeting

Here are some tips for managing Zoom meeting attendees and protecting your meetings from unwelcome guests.

Norsk versjon: Zoom - slik sikrer du møtet ditt

How to disable "Join before host" in your personal meeting room: #

If you are using a personal meeting room, a good place to start is to disable the “Enable join before host” option. This prevents others from using your personal meeting ID without your management. Follow these steps to adjust this setting.

  1. Navigate to meeting settings in the Zoom web portal at https://ntnu.zoom.us/meeting.
  2. Click on the Personal Meeting Room.
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Edit this Meeting.
  4. Remove Enable join before host.
  5. Click Save.

Settings to consider before a zoom session begins: #

Remember to configure meeting settings when you schedule a new meeting or by editing a scheduled meeting. Some of the settings are not available through the Zoom desktop client and must be configured via the Zoom web portal.

  • Enable only authenticated users to join¹: This option ensures that only Zoom users at NTNU can attend the meeting. Important: Some NTNU staff and students do not yet have a Zoom account, and activating this setting will prevent them from attending your meeting. To create an NTNU Zoom account, FEED users can go to https://ntnu.zoom.us/ and click Login.
  • Disable join before host¹: Participants cannot attend a meeting until the host joins and will see a message saying: "The meeting is waiting for the host to join".
  • Auto Generated Meeting ID: Selecting Generate Automatically for “Meeting ID” generates a random meeting ID instead of using your static Personal Meeting ID (PMI). This reduces the likelihood of abuse of meeting rooms by limiting the life of a given meeting ID.
  • Enable waiting room¹: A waiting room allows a host or co-host to see who is trying to join the meeting before it starts. Participants can be recorded individually or all at once. For large meetings or classes, consider assigning the review feature to a co-host.
  • Require a meeting password¹: Adding a meeting password means that participants can only attend the meeting by entering the specified (or automatically generated) password. (Note: This provides less added security if passwords are included in shared meeting information.)

¹ These settings can be configured for individual meetings or changed to become your standards for all future meetings you plan. For instructions, go to how to change zoom meeting settings (below).

Recommended Settings for Zoom Based Tutorials: #

If you only use Zoom for teaching and recordings, you can change the Zoom settings in the web portal to apply to all meetings and recordings. If not, be sure to change settings while planning a particular meeting or recurring meeting. 

  • Enable only authenticated users to join¹: This option ensures that only users with NTNU accounts can join your class. (Note: It does not prevent NTNU students who are not in the class from joining.) Students who have not yet registered a Zoom account will be able to create one by going to https://ntnu.zoom.us/ and clicking Log in.
  • Require a password when scheduling new meetings¹: Turn this on if you are going to teach one subject that should not be publicly available. If you turn this setting on, you will automatically generate a password for future meetings you create. (Note: This provides little extra security if passwords are included in a shared meeting invitation.) 
    • Embed password in meeting link for one-click join¹: Leave this on. If you change your password, a new meeting link is generated and the old one is invalidated.
  • Disable “Join before host” ¹: Remove Join before host when creating the meeting (or edit settings if already scheduled). This will allow students to connect before the meeting starts, but they will see a popup that says, "The meeting is waiting for the host to join." Students cannot enter the meeting until you have started it.
  • Grant co-host rights: the teacher may ask a Teaching Assistant (TA), and/or a student in the class to serve as co-host. They can help mute/unmute students, help monitor the chat for questions, problems and remove any disruptive participants. The host can click More next to a name in the Manage Participants window after the meeting has started and then select Make Co-host
  • Mute participants upon entry¹: All meeting participants will come in with the sound muted and must press unmute to speak. This can reduce ambient noise from many active microphones. The host can also click Mute all at the bottom of the Manage Participants window to mute all participant microphones. 
  • Disable “Play sound when participants leave or join”: If sound when a participant enters the meeting or leaves the meeting is disruptive, the host can turn this off from the drop-down menu at the bottom of the Manage Participants window when the meeting has started.

¹ These settings can be configured for individual meetings or changed to become your standards for all future meetings you plan. For instructions, go to How to Change Zoom Meeting Settings (below).

Manage participants during a Zoom meeting: #

To access most of the controls in the meeting, click the Manage Participants button at the bottom of the main window. From the Manage Participants window, the host can lock a meeting, mute all participants, co-host someone, and remove an uninvited or disruptive participant.

  • Lock meeting: When all participants have arrived, the host can lock the meeting by clicking More at the bottom of the Manage Participants window and selecting Lock meeting. This prevents new participants from joining the meeting. 
  • Mute All: A host can mute all active microphones through the Manage Participants window. The host can also stop participants from turning on their microphone themselves and ask them to use chat for questions. 
  • Mute a participant: People often forget to turn off their microphones and continue to send the background noise in the room they sit to all the participants in the meeting. The host can mute individual participants by clicking More next to the participant's name in the Manage Participants window.
  • Stop a participant's video: If a participant's video is distracting or disruptive, the host or co-host can turn it off by clicking More next to the participant name in the Manage Participants window.
  • Override unwanted or inappropriate screen sharing: NTNU's default screen sharing settings allow the host to override sharing when someone else inserts content into the meeting. 
  • Remove unwanted or disruptive participants: In the rare event that someone attends a meeting that should not be present or if they need to be removed for some other reason, the host or co-host can quickly remove a participant and prevent them from attending again by clicking More next to the name in the Manage Attendees window and selecting Remove.
  • Block Annotation: When the annotation tool is disabled, participants cannot use the annotation tool to add information when one of the participants shares a screen.

Manage a disruptive or distracting meeting participant: #

In the Host Control Panel you will find all the tools you need to remove a distracting or distracting participant.

  • Remove unwanted or disruptive participants: If someone attends a meeting that they should not attend, or if they need to be removed for some other reason, the host or co-host may remove a participant and prevent them from re-attending the meeting by clicking More next to the participant's name in the Manage Participants window and selecting Remove.
  • Override unwanted or inappropriate screen sharing: NTNU's default screen sharing settings allow the host to override screen sharing when any of the other participants try to share content in the meeting.
0 Vedlegg
1004 Visninger
Gjennomsnitt (0 Stemmer)